December: Your Favorite Book!


Since the holiday season is upon us, the month of December is a free month with no assigned reading. Instead, I’ve asked members to answer 2 simple questions about the books they’ve read and hope to read in the New Year.

Answer below in a comment:


(1) What was your favorite book that you read in 2012 and why was it your favorite book?

&

(2) What books do you hope to read in 2013 as part of your New Year’s Reading Resolution?


Thanks to all members who participated this year in the club and I hope to see everyone next year! Happy reading!

6 responses to “December: Your Favorite Book!

  1. 1. My favourite book I read this year was The Help or The Casual Vacancy. I can’t really decide because the books are totally different. I really enjoyed The Help because it is well written and it has a real message. The book made me think about racism and it made me a bit angry even. I enjoyed The Casual Vacancy so much, because I was very surprised by the book. The story was totally different from what I expected it to be although I knew it would be different than the Harry Potter books of J.K. Rowling. I appreciated that she used the same style of writing as in the Harry Potter books and that the ending was a total surprise.

    2. I am not sure yet what book I would like to read yet, but I would like to finish the huge pile unread books on my bookshelf.

  2. 1. My favourite book this year was Haruki Murakami’s “After the Quake”. It’s really just a collection of short stories, but I like Murakami’s style and I plan to read all books by that author.

    2. I have chosen 12 books I will read in 2013 (old and new, different genres)
    – Cloud Atlas, D. Mitchell
    – Life of Pi, Y. Martel
    – Sputnik Sweetheart, H. Murakami
    – The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle, H. Murakami
    – Trainspotting, I. Welsh
    – The New Year Triology, P. Auster
    – The Life and Adventures of Nicholas Nickleby, C. Dickens
    – Anna Karenina, L. Tolstoy
    – The Scarlett Letter, N. Hawthorne
    – The postman always rings twice, J. Cain
    – Kokoro, N. Soseki
    – Do Androids dream of electric sheep?, P. Dick

  3. 1. My favourite book(s) for this year would have to the the Millennium trilogy – The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, The Girl who played with Fire and The Girl who Kicked the Hornets Nest.
    I have read the series twice – and was totally engrossed both times.

    The stories cover a journalist and the stories his magazine is investigating, a girl who has been declared legally incompetent and her fight to gain control of her life and a group of secret service men who are controlling in the background. Even though there is violence in these stories it is shocking but somehow seems to be fitting (almost) within the story.

    2. Books for 2012. This list is fluid and will be changing depending on book club reading.
    – The Happiness Project, Gretchen Rubin
    – the follow up book to above
    – I Came to Say Goodbye, Caroline Overington
    – Roman Holiday, Kathy Buchanan
    – Hide, Lisa Gardner
    – Looking for Alaska, Peter Jenkins
    – Bluey’s War, Herb Hamlet
    – One Unknown, Gill Hicks
    – Life, Keith Richards
    – The Chronicles of Narnia, C S Lewis
    – Tea with Arwa, Arwa El Masri

  4. (1) I didn’t read as many books this year as I would have liked to, but there were some really good ones! I finally read Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter which was just a really awesome book, but I also read The Fault in our Stars so that has to be the best one!

    (2) Well next year I would just like to read a lot more books than I did this year. For sure I would like to read Deck Z: The Titanic: Unsinkable. Undead by Chris Pauls and I would love to finish: Under the Dome and Salems Lot by Stephen King, 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami, and Haunted by Chuck Palahniuk. I would also like to get more into Bizarro books because they are fun πŸ˜€

  5. 1) It’s really hard to decide. This year was great in terms of books, I really enjoyed series like Tomorrow When the War Began or the Mercy Thompson series. When it comes to books I really liked Veronica Roth’s Insurgent, Deliverence by James Dickey, Graveyard Book and Coraline by Neil Gaiman because I just love his books. But probably my favourite is the second book from the Watch series – Day Watch by Sergei Lukyanenko. It’s rough and different (and it partially took place in Prague), it’s really clever, everything has it’s own reason in there. I just can’t wait to read Twilight Watch…

    2) On my to-read list for the next year are definitely those books: The third Divergent book, Lover At Last by J.R. Ward, The Indigo Spell by Richelle Mead, Frost Burned by Patricia Briggs, Burned by Karen Marie Moning, and Origin by Jennifer L. Armentrout. And of course lots of obligatory reading for my literature state exams πŸ™‚

  6. 1) My fave book this year was “Girl Meets Boy” by Ali Smith. πŸ™‚
    2) I promise to read at least half of the official book club books this year. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Comment

