Book #8 (October) – BOOK OF CHOICE!


** I’ve started a new Facebook-based book club! Learn more HERE.**

This month members will get to choose their own book for reading. Questions for this month will be really easy, and members should be able to answer them for any book they choose!


Discussion Questions


MUST ANSWER (please answer all 4 of these questions for your book):

1. What is the name of your book? The author?

2. Why did you choose this book?

3. What are your expectations for the story?

4. What do you like/hate about the cover? Why?


OPTIONAL ANSWER (please answer 3 QUESTIONS from this list):

5. Which character can you relate to the most and why?

6. How did the book compare to other books by the author (or other books in the same genre)?

7. Did you feel that the book fulfilled your expectations? Were you disappointed?

8. What about the plot? Did it pull you in; or did you feel you had to force yourself to read the book?

9. If one (or more) of the characters made a choice that had moral implications, would you have made the same decision? Why? Why not?

10. How would the book have been different if it had taken place in a different time or place?

11. Did the book end the way you expected?

12. Do the characters seem real and believable? Can you relate to their predicaments? To what extent do they remind you of yourself or someone you know?

13. In what ways do the events in the books reveal evidence of the author’s world view?

14. Did certain parts of the book make you uncomfortable? If so, why did you feel that way? Did this lead to a new understanding or awareness of some aspect of your life you might not have thought about before?

15. How has reading this book changed your opinion of a certain person or topic?

16. Does the author present information in a way that is interesting and insightful, and if so, how does he or she achieve this?

17. How has the book increased your interest in the subject matter, if it does at all?

18. CREATE YOUR OWN QUESTION


MUST ANSWER (please answer this last question for your book):

19. Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?



11 responses to “Book #8 (October) – BOOK OF CHOICE!

  1. 1.My Book: Afterwards by Rosamund Lupton.
    2.I chose this book because I had read Sister by the same author and loved it.
    3.My expectations – to be engrossed and not know until the very end what really happened.
    4. Like the cover – it has a splash of bright red which draws your eye to itr, and has meaning once you start the book.

  2. 1. “The Scarecrow and his Servant” by Philip Pullman
    2. I chose this book because I have read “His Dark Materials” trilogy by Philip Pullman and I think the author is a great storyteller. I am also curious to know why a scarecrow needs a servant. It is interesting when a scarecrow becomes alive, the scarecrow from “The Wizard of Oz” was charming. 🙂
    3. I expect this story to be a great modern fairy-tale with lots of interesting twists and magical atmosphere. I also expect interesting remarks about being a human because a scarecrow is in a new situation and sees things freshly. As this is more a childrens’ book than “The Golden Compass” its sequels, I hope it is not so dark and is more fun to read.
    4. I like that the Estonian version has also a cover picture and illustrations by an Estonian artist, Kristina Reineller. I like her style. It is also nice to see both of the main characters on the cover. http://pood.rahvaraamat.ee/Content/ProductImages/product_5/08/R111808.jpg

  3. 1. The book I’m reading is….Haunted by Chuck Palahniuk
    2. Well this story may sound weird…but I chose this book because my cousin told me he heard about some book that when read out loud caused some people in the audience to faint! I eventually found out it was this book and obviously had to read it. Also I have read through the part that grossed so many people out and it really was awful….but I’m still going to read it all 🙂
    3. Well it’s a book of short stories within a story sort of, so I expect them to be weird as they have been so far.
    4. I like it! it is just purple and white and looks like a ghost screaming.

  4. Oh my god I just realized the book cover glows in the dark!! It glows in the dark people.

    Glows. In. The. Dark.

  5. 1. I read the book “The Namesake” by Jhumpa Lahiri

    2. To be honest, I didn’t choose the book this month 😛 It was part of my university literature course but I had been wanting to read it so I was looking forward to it.

    3. I was expecting more of the story 😦 It deals with culture, assimilation and identity, which is something I can relate to a lot but I thought the book was too much of a story that went on and on and less of the themes. I might have had too high expectations though because I was expecting it too be more like the Arundhati Roy’s book “The God of Small Things” which it turned out to be very different from.

    4. The cover is great! I had this one (http://www.goodreads.com/book/photo/10128.The_Namesake). Not sure how it relates to the story besides the mailbox and letters which has a part in the beginning of the story but the cover feels a bit romantic for me than what the story is a about. It is very cute though.

  6. 1. Three Bags Full by Leonie Swann
    2. I chose this book after reading the description.
    3. It’s a book about sheep investigating the murder of their shepherd who used to read to them every night so I expect it to be very interesting and cute.
    4. I like it the cover it is blue with shapes of the sheep in white.

  7. 1. I am reading Aleph by Paolo Coelho.

    2. I heard people talking about the book ande the impression it left behind.

    3. I hope to understand what they mean with Aleph.

    4. It doesn’t attrack me. It looks rather simple.

  8. 1. I am reading Ghost on Black Mountain by Ann Hite.
    2. I chose this book because I always like to read a ghost story around Halloween. The chilly air and falling leaves just make you want to curl up with a good book.
    3. I hope that this is a good story with believable supernatural elements to it.
    4. I love the cover because it shows what Black Mountain may look like with a spooky wisp of a girl too. Very fitting it seems!

  9. Three Bags Full
    5. I relate to Miss Maple the most even if she is a sheep, she never gives up and always tries to think things through.
    6. compared to other books in this genre it took a different approach on who solved the case and how they solved it.
    11. did the book end the way I expected. No I thought the person was murdered and it turns out it was just suicide with a twist.
    18. I would recommend it to friends who are into mystery and animals.

  10. 1. “The Weed that Strings the Hangman’s Bag” by Alan Bradley

    2. I loved the first Flavia de Luce mystery and wanted to continue the series. Plus I like a good mystery around Halloween.

    3. I expected it to be similar to the first. filled with Chemistry tidbits and the misadventures of an 11-year-old girl who rambles the countryside like it is nothing and loves her bike (I adored mine and chemistry at her age but never had as cool of a lab, or solved mysteries).

    4. I love the image on the cover though I would have loved it better in hardback. I think the hardback books in the series are really cute (no dustcovers which makes me so happy). But I bought the paperback online without thinking. Oh well! Cool image on the cover with a skeleton puppet and a butterfly (both apply to the story).

    5. I most relate to Flavia (which I mentioned above). At her age I loved chemistry and my bike and constantly looked for ways to have adventures. Though I never had an absent minded father or a dead mother, or two older sisters who hated me (just a little brother I terrorized). Though I wish I had been more adventurous like her when I was younger.

    11. I did not know who to think committed the murder until much later into the story but yes, overall it ended the way I expected. It ended the way most mysteries end with the one who solves it explaining it over tea… okay most British mysteries end with tea.

    17. I am much more interested in the chemistry of poisons now. Flavia is obsessed with poisons and now I am reading a couple of non-fiction books about poisons and poisoners. I find it fascinating how something so natural could be so deadly. Or to think people would actually use it to kill other people.

    19. I would recommend this to others. I loved it and intend to read the rest of the series too. It was a lot of fun and totally great if you love mysteries.

  11. 6. As I expected, “Scarecrow” was a lighter reading than “His Dark Materials” by the same author. It had less magic (basically the facts that Scarecrow came alive and the birds could talk) and but a lot more situation comedy. There were more dialogues than descriptions. As “His Dark Materials” was quite dark and severe, I was even surprised that the same author can create something so funny. But all stories by Philip Pullman are always well told and easy to imagine and follow.
    11. In general I knew that a book like this should have a happy ending and Scarecrow will find and inherit Spring Valley farm like he feels he is destined to. But I didn’t know how it will happen. The judgement where Spring Valley’s destiny is decided, is full of surprises and the journey before the judgement as well. I also didn’t expect the scarecrow’s servant Jack to have a wife and children in this story. 🙂
    14. I felt uncomfortable at the scene where Scarecrow’s enemies tried to murder him with termites, because Scarecrow’s fear of death was too overdramatized and Jack asked old women to dance and sing funny songs for him, so finally there was a total spectacle of their singing, Scarecrow’s moaning and Jack’s crying. It sounded all kind of stupid, but afterwards it made me think of what it feels like if You know that you are likely to die or Your close friend is. And actually Jack’s idea to sing and dance for Scarecrow might have a point, because the last thing You see on earth, should be something nice and joyful. I feel funerals should be more positive, too. Of course it is important that the farewell is hearty and doesn’t end up in a total comedy.
    19. Yes, I would recommend the book to friends who enjoy good humour, adventures and witty children’s books.

Leave a Comment

