Book #2 (February) Hunger Games & Miss Peregrine


** I’ve started a new Facebook-based book club! Learn more HERE.**

After a vote, both suggested books this month came to a tie and so the only way to settle this fairly was to let everyone read whichever book they wanted or hadn’t already read. A few others could not find the chosen books and had to read a seperate book of their choosing. I know its confusing, but I will nevertheless post discussion questions and projects for EVERY book read this month by our members.

Below I have posted a comment for each book being read by our members. This keeps all comments in order by book. Members may respond to questions or comments at any time, as well as rate the books they have read in the polls.

The first book is : Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Summary (provided by BN.com):

Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don’t live to see the morning?

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games.

DISCUSSION QUESTIONS for Hunger Games:

 

1. What is your first impression of the book?

2. What do you expect to learn or gain from this novel?

3. Who is your favorite character in the novel so far? Why?

4. Why do you think fire is an appropriate symbol for Katniss?

Discussion Project #1 – Pretend you are living in the same society as the characters in Hunger Games and you have been chosen as a tribute for your District. Write a pretend “diary entry“, in which you tell your feelings about being chosen and how it has affected you or will affect you. (Your response can be long or short in length. You may start it with “Dear Diary…”)

5. What do you think is in District 13?

6. How does the Hunger Games compare to game shows / survival shows in your country? What is the effect of having the games televised?

7. What did you think of the ending? Does it add to the story or still leave you wondering?

8. Will you read the sequeal, Catching Fire, or is Hunger Games a one and done novel? Would you recommend it?

 

 

The second book is: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Summary (provided by BN.com):

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of very curious photographs.

It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive

 

DISCUSSION QUESTIONS for Miss Peregrine:

 

1. What is your first impression of the book?

2. What do you expect to learn or gain from this novel?

3. How do the photos in the novel enhance the story? Or, do the photos take away from the story?

4. What do you really think is wrong with Jacob?

5. Do you think Miss Peregrine is still alive? What do you think actually happened to the children in the house?

Discussion Project #1 – Imagine you are a Peculiar Child living with Miss Peregrine in the time loop. What makes you peculiar? Do you have a super power or are you weird in some way? Share your thoughts!

6. What do you think of Jacob’s father? Do you feel that he is a good role model for his son? Do you feel as though Jacob’s parents really love him?

7. Were you surprised to find out about the mysterious man on the island and all of the other characters he played throughout the story?

8. What did you think of the ending? Do you feel it ended the story well, or did it still leave you wondering?

 

 

The other books are:

 

 

DISCUSSION QUESTIONS:

(These questions can be answered for any of the above books.
Please comment under the appropriate title.)

 

1. What do you expect to learn or gain from this novel?

2. What is your first impression of the book? The main character?

3. How does the main character relate to you?

4. Describe your favorite part of the book so far.

 

Discussion Project #1 – Pick a character from your book. Imagine you are that character, if only for a day. Write a pretend “diary entry” about your experience as that character. What do you see, smell, taste, hear? Who did you meet, what did you do? (It can be long or short in length. You may start with “Dear Diary...”)

5. How does the cover of the book relate to the story itself? Do you feel the cover should be different?

6. Would you recommend this book, or not? Why?

7. What did you think of the ending? Did it add to the story, or still leave you wondering?

**No poll available for these books, however, members may write below in a comment how they would rate their story.**

 

 

Thanks to all of the members for reading and participating this month!

43 responses to “Book #2 (February) Hunger Games & Miss Peregrine

  1. ————-> Original Comment for Hunger Games.

    Click REPLY on this comment to leave your answers to discussion questions for this book only. If you wish to reply to what someone else has said about this book, click REPLY on their comment, not this one.

    • The first time I read the back, I thought it was much like the story called Lottery. I really liked that story and was actually looking for a book like that 🙂

      I think it will introduce us how humanbeings can be inhuman through the obstacles in life.

    • I have just downloaded an audio copy of this book which I am listening to on my way to work.
      My first impression of the book it that its quite dark – you have imagine a different world to the one we are living in.
      I think Katniss is quite a strong, brave character. Her family need her to be
      both.

    • 1. What is your first impression of the book? My first impression was much more positive than I would have thought. I love dystopian novels. Somehow, this book reminds me of Margaret Atwood’s “The Handmaid’s Tale” but I can’t put my finger on it. However, it is quite easy to read. Of course, some descriptions are quite graphic. I was really surprised that this book would be recommended for ages 12-17. I’m quite sure I would not have understood this book at 12, maybe not even at 15. But it’s not exhausting to read and the setting doesn’t feel unrealistic at all – that was my biggest concern when I read the description. I’ve read all three books in record time. 😀

      4. Why do you think fire is an appropriate symbol for Katniss? I acutally don’t think it’s a good symbol for her at all. Like her participation in the hunger games, it has been forced on her. She is stubborn and doesn’t do what she’s told, but in the end she’s always just reacting because she has to. She doesn’t do anything on her own initiative. I think fire would be a much better symbol for Gale.

    • My favourite character is Cinna, as I think he is the only one who truly understands Katniss.

      I think fire is kind of a foreshadowing for Katniss’ future doings. So it is very suitable for her.

    • Hello everyone.
      Yesterday, I was quite free and decided on reading this book. I thought I will read the first few chapters. It turned out.. I was wrong. I read the whole book and I slept at 5 a.m. last night. Such an interesting book and I totally forgot to have a good night sleep.
      Such sacrifice is worth it.

      1. What is your first impression of the book?
      At first I think it’s quite okay, since the author is trying to explain to us about the country and District 12. I already knew from the beginning that Katniss is a survior and a loving sister. Such burden for a teenager like her.. to take care of her mom and sister.
      The description of the novel can be a little too graphic and gosh, so much pain… I’m a peace lover person. So, I’ll never agree this kind of game to be played by anyone.

      2. What do you expect to learn or gain from this novel?
      I learn appreciating what we have in our life no matter how simple that thing is. Food, shelter, comfortable house, good education. Besides that, this book also teaches us to be humble and be good with others. I love it especially the interaction between Katniss and Rue. (I hope I did not reveal any spoiler here). (are we allowed to write spoilers?)

      3. Who is your favorite character in the novel so far? Why?
      I like both Peeta and Katniss. At first, Peeta is a suspicious character… more like a gray where we don’t know whether he’s a good guy or a bad guy.
      I love Katniss because she’s independent and brave enough to join the Hunger Games. Besides that, I wish that I have 10% of her skill in archery. She’s great. Although she’s confused about her feelings at the end of the book… I still think she’s a great character.

      4. Why do you think fire is an appropriate symbol for Katniss?
      Yeah, fire is great to symbolise her passion in winning the game. However, in my persona; opinion, her symbol should be a tigress. Fierce yet protective and gentle over her cubs. (I consider Prim and Rue as her cubs).

    • My first impression of this book was great. I thought that it would be dark and I haven´t seen it. I really liked the beginning.

      I think that this novel will teach us how to fight and succeed even if you have no hope at all. Also I consider this novel can help us not to think only of ourselves but be more soft and sympathetic.

      I like Katniss most of all. I admire her. She´s so strong in her soul! I´d like to have some of her qualities such as responsibility, courage, keeping chin up, hope for future and finding forces to achieve purpose.

      Fire is her approriate symbol, in my opinion, because she´s like a fire herself. She´s stubborn and reacts fast and easily. I think that she can react at first and onle then ponder.

    • 1 My first impression was a lot more positive than I would have thought. I like how dark and dystopian the book is and compared to other young-adult I didn’t think the descriptions were very graphic but I did like the amount of realism and it’s a fast read.
      2 What do you expect to learn or gain from this novel?
      to fight and succeed no matter the situation you’re in and to appreciate what you have no matter how much or little you have.
      3 I like Katniss she was brave enough to volunteer for her sister and her ability to never give up no matter the situation
      4 at first I didn’t think it was in the beginning but as ther book progressed she adapted to her symbal becasuse she is like a wildfire once she gets going it’s hard to slow her down or stop her.
      5 What do you think is in District 13?
      they metioned graphite and hinted at something more
      6 How does the Hunger Games compare to game shows / survival shows in your country? What is the effect of having the games televised?
      It remins me of the realty show Surviver the only difference is nobody dies and it makes people who particiapte in the shows look desparate for fame money whatever and not gratefull for what they have
      7 What did you think of the ending? Does it add to the story or still leave you wondering?
      Both actually
      8. Will you read the sequeal, Catching Fire, or is Hunger Games a one and done novel? Would you recommend it?
      yes I will defintely be reading the rest of the series my friend let me borrow the whole series and I would defintelly recomend it to anyone

    • I know I´m a bit late but just endend the book. And UAU!!!! I´m impressed. Very good book. Love the characters and how they try the best they can to survive in a world so hostile and ugly. I´m going to buy the other two books right away. Thank you for direct my attention to this book.

  2. ————-> Original Comment for Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.

    Click REPLY on this comment to leave your answers to discussion questions for this book only. If you wish to reply to what someone else has said about this book, click REPLY on their comment, not this one.

    • 1. ) My first impression of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children was that it looked a bit morbid and ghostly like. That girl on the cover is so creepy looking and the other photos inside are too, but they were also what made me want to read the book.

      2.) I expect to learn what the meaning behind the photos are and what they represent. Photos tell a story all on their own and incorporating them into the written story was very well thought out by the author to interest the reader into reading the book.

      3.) In my opinion, the photos actually make the story worth reading, because they are just so “peculiar.” =)

      I also really love the author’s name “Ransom Riggs.” It just sounds cool!

    • 4.) Well, in reading the book, it said Jacob can see monsters like his grandfather could. I am not sure what sort of gift he has and it isn’t noticeable to anybody, but comes in handy for detecting the squid-monster people, as I call them.

      5.) I didn’t think Miss Peregrine was still alive, until further into the book when Jacob found the letter addressed to his grandfather and when the Peregrine flew into his bedroom at the bar, he and his father are staying at on the island. As for the children, I thought they had all died, but I was definitely wrong, because they are living in some time loop.

    • Discussion Question #1

      If I were a peculiar child, living in the time loop, I would want some more interesting power than some of the children have. I sort of thought the children had powers that were a bit down played and would have liked to see more action with them using their powers. If I could choose a power it would be to make things vanish and reappear or not and maybe have some sort of telekinetic properties I can use against those weird monsters. The only power I thought was cool was the girl, who could summon up fire, but she didn’t do much with her power, but use it to make fire orbs most of the book.

    • #6

      I think that Jacob’s father is too self-absorbed in writing his books and his own issues with what happened in his own childhood. He doesn’t want to believe that Jacob is telling the truth about his grandfather and the monster, because he sees it as being psychological. Jacob’s mother is very self-centered and seems to be one of those women who wants her life to be ordinary and perfect. She sees Jacob and her husband as added burdens that she doesn’t want to deal with. I do think Jacob’s parents love him, but they aren’t supportive of him.

      #7

      I wasn’t too surprised by the man who played all the other characters, because it just seemed to go along with the whole story.

      #8

      The ending was a bit of a disappointment, because I expected the characters to do more than just fight off the man and find out that there are other time loops that they can travel to around the world. I wish the author had made it more adventurous and that Jacob had traveled through the time loops away from the monster men, and met up with other peculiar children.

    • I just started reading this book and I am already loving it! The pictures really do add to the story, so they are a great bonus. But the story is also interesting and funny at times. Cant wait to read more!

    • I read on the Ransom Rigg’s offical website that he is in the process of collecting more photos for the sequel to this book. I am really looking forward to seeing how his next book turns out, because I love this first one.

    • Wow! I definitely wasnt expecting Jacob to time travel…if that’s really what’s going on. How weird!

    • When I got to that part it confused me, because I thought the children were all deceased and didn’t understand how they could survive a bomb explosion. Plus, they would all be really old if they did survive. I sort of thought maybe they were ghosts Jacob was seeing. I was shocked when I realized he traveled back in time through a time loop.

    • 1) It’s looks like a peculiar book (see what I did here?). I like reading strange, unpredictable stories and this seemed like a good one to read.

      2) I expect to know exactly why they are peculiar and what’s really happening in the house.

      3) They give more interest to the story 🙂

    • This book is interesting, but its not as great as I thought it would be. I’m already a little over halfway through the book and I’m still not overly impressed with what’s going on. I was sort of hoping for some amazing thing in regards to the children. I mean, yeah, it’s weird that they are are still alive in some time loop, but all of the dramatic beginning with Jacob’s grandfather only led to a time loop?? Eh. Hope it gets better.

      Anybody else feel this way about the story? Seems a bit lacking in the WOW department.

    • I have to agree that at first the book seemed great, but I too expected something more to happen with the children and their powers. I like how the author writes, but wish he would have added more detail to his characters and allowed them to evolve and let us know more about the grandfather. Also, it is a bit strange that Jacob is falling for his grandfather’s ex-girlfriend, who is like 80 years old. Another part is the time loop makes no sense to me, because if they stay young in it, wouldn’t they automatically age when they went into the present time to visit Jacob? And how was his grandfather able to leave the loop and not age dramatically? I think I missed something in the book…

    • Yes, they would age. Remember Jacob’s apple? It withered away after a few hours. The same thing would happen to them. It’s mentioned in the book. I think Emma and Miss Peregrine both say that they would age if they left. As for his grandfather though…I’m not sure. Maybe his grandfather never was part of the loop. Maybe they created the loop after he left and went to America. The weird thing though is that a few pictures used in the story show older kids. For instance, Jacob’s grandfather went to war, and one of the pictures shown of “Emma” makes her look like she’s in her 20’s or 30’s. (Check the second picture after page 222. Emma is smoking a pipe and looks like she’s 20, no?) And yet…they are still little kids?? How did they go from being in the war and all that, to going back to being kids? Didnt they die as kids when the bomb hit?

    • It would only make sense that the bomb did kill all of the children and Miss Peregrine, because the house Jacob entered was in ruins. I am assuming the time loop was set before the bomb hit and somehow time kept going on, while they all were safe in the loop. I hope the author explains more in his second book about everything in this first book.

    • Discussion Project #1 – Hmmm, if I was a peculiar child, I’d probably have the ability to transform into another creature like Miss Peregrine, or be able to camoflauge like a chameleon into my surroundings. Or, perhaps I would be able to climb tall things on my hands and feet like a gecko or be able to turn things I touched into something else. There are so many peculiarities to choose from, it’s quite hard to pick just one!

    • Okay, got to the part where the children wake up the dead guy. WAYYYYYYY too graphic for me. Definitely not my kind of story. Just…ew.

  3. ————-> Original Comment for Before I Fall.

    Click REPLY on this comment to leave your answers to discussion questions for this book only. If you wish to reply to what someone else has said about this book, click REPLY on their comment, not this one.

    • I’ve just returned with this book from the library so my very first impression (in just reading the synopsis) is that I shall enjoy the ethical dilemma.
      I want to know what this character did when facing her last day and reliving it. What would I do in the same situation? Would I react in the same way or would I do things totally different? Do I have any regrets?
      I do like books that make me think as well as entertain so I shall see if this book falls into both categories.

    • I’ve read the first 80 pages of this book – so far so good, the book is fairly readable.
      The main character initially comes across as a typical shallow, high school girl. Sam and her three friends are just interested in being the popular crowd and their various boyfriends, drinking and parties.
      Sam has just died for the first time and is reliving her final day again, fearing she is going to die again in a car accident. You can understand her confusion at what is happening.
      I am quite interested in what is going to happen next.

    • Sam is on her 4th final day and it is becoming quite interesting to see how things change with each final day with the knowledge of what is going to hapen.
      Sam at times feels quite invincible and does things she wouldn’t normally do such as telling her friends what she really thinks and also flashing some boys! She thinks that as she is going to die what does it matter what she does.
      She is also taking more notice of what people think of her and how she behaves around them.

    • I dont think if I was going to die, I’d be flashing boys! I’d probably be out doing things I’ve never done before. Of course, I also wouldn’t be able to handle the fact that I was going to die, so actually going out and doing things as a last “hurrah!” would be terribly depressing.

    • before i fall is my first english book to read this year. I have a challenge to read one english book for a month 🙂

      This book is really amazing for me. It’s teach me to be thankful for my life and what should i do to make my life meaningful for people around me. ❤

    • I finished Before I Fall yesterday. I thought it was enjoyable but not a book I would rave about or particularly recommend although it did have a thought provoking story line. I suppose the main thing I got out of this book was to think about my behaviour towards others and how even the smallest thing can effect them. I thought the ending was a bit predictable.
      I think the book would be suitable for a younger female reader than I am. I do not relate to teenage girls well ( I have two sons and work in a boy’s high school!) and it is a long time since I was one. I do remember the feelings of isolation Juliet suffered from and how dreadful the popular girls were.

    • Discussion Project #1

      If I were Samantha Kingston, i would say to my mom, dad, my sister and mi friends that i really love them 🙂

      This Cover absolutely amazing. It’s represent Sam’s feel and what happened to her. This book is highly recommended!

  4. ————-> Original Comment for The Schopenhauer Cure.

    Click REPLY on this comment to leave your answers to discussion questions for this book only. If you wish to reply to what someone else has said about this book, click REPLY on their comment, not this one.

    • – well, previously I read “When Nietzsche wept” by the same author and really liked it, so I expect some more in-depth philosophical/psychological points of view implemented into every day life’s issues and relations among people

      – uh, i hope it is not again another narrow-minded and stubborn man like Joseph in “When Nietzsche wept” 🙂

  5. ————-> Original Comment for Magyk.

    Click REPLY on this comment to leave your answers to discussion questions for this book only. If you wish to reply to what someone else has said about this book, click REPLY on their comment, not this one.

    • 1. I expect great adventures, lovable characters and good humour and the book hasn’t disappointed me yet! 🙂

    • 4. My favourite part so far was when Stanley the messenger rat came to bring Silas and the kids a message from Sarah. It was all so funny when Silas couldn’t remember the right words to make the rat talk and Marcia was worrying if the rat is confidential and qualified… and finally Silas became the rat’s first parcel although he wasn’t allowed to transport parcels or people. 🙂 It is amusing to imagine message service by talking rats!

    • 5. Quite in the end it comes out, why the cover looks like this. It is exactly like the notebook Marcia gave to Septimus when Septimus agreed to be her apprentice: blue covers and purple back with “magykal” marks. The “magyk” ring that Septimus found is also on the cover. I have thought how it would look like if the cover showed all the main characters together (something like a movie poster 🙂 ) But on the other hand it wouldn’t be so mysterious and full of secrets. And there are nice illustrations of the characters inside as well.
      6. Yes, I would certainly recommend it! The author’s sense of humour is very good and she describes the characters and places (especially the Marram Marshes – homy for Aunt Zelda and the Boggart, a furry marsh creature, but creepy and dangerous at night) so that You can really imagine them! The book is full of unexpected turns and secrets that become unveiled.

    • 7. Good’s defeat over evil and Septimus discovering his true identity sum this story logically up. Plus there are explanations of some less important character’s further destinys. But the fact that Septimus just starts as an apprentice leaves a lot of possibilities. Actually the book is first of seven (and the seventh book is not ready yet)! It can be read separately but I’m eager to know what happens in the other books as well.

  6. Original Comment for LETTERS. (Mailing Assignment #1)

    Did you receive a letter from your mailing partner? What did they think about the book they are reading? Click REPLY on this comment to leave your response. If you wish to reply to what someone else has said, click REPLY on their comment, not this one.

    • I received a letter from my partner Becks (Louise)
      I’ll start composing a reply right now.
      Sorry for the delay. Just registered for the new semester on Monday.. My life is pretty hectic right now.

  7. I sent a letter to botwa long ago and last week I finally got a reply from her. Her first letter probably got lost so it was nice of her to send a new one.

Leave a Comment

